Your browser does not support accepted Web standards. This site has been redesigned to meet Section 508 accessibility standards for persons with disabilities and to meet W3C recommendations for forward compatibility. If you are using an older browser (Netscape or IE 4.x and older), the site layout will not display correctly. However, all pertinent information should still be viewable. To better view this site, please download a browser that complies with Web standards. For upgrade information, visit []. Comments or questions? Email [].

Skip directly to: Content, Search Box, Main Navigation

July 17, 2008 :: White Elected To Lead State Regents in 2008-09

Media Contact

One of Oklahoma City’s leading cardiologists has been elected to chair the state’s coordinating board for Oklahoma’s public colleges and universities during the coming year.

At their recent meeting, the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education named Ronald H. White as board chairman. He will lead the nine-member State Regents throughout the 2008-09 fiscal year, which ends June 30, 2009.

Other officers include William Stuart Price of Tulsa, vice chairman; Joseph L. Parker Jr. of Tulsa, secretary; and Julie Carson of Claremore, assistant secretary.

Appointed to the State Regents in 2003, White is president of Oklahoma Cardiovascular Associates. He serves as a member of the board of managers for Oklahoma Heart Hospital and as a clinical assistant professor at the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine.

White has been a member of the board of directors for Oklahoma Gas and Electric since 1989 and is a founding member of the board of commissioners for the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation. He received his bachelor’s and medical degrees and a cardiology fellowship from OU and served as a member of the OU Board of Regents for 14 years.

Price is the owner of an oil, gas and energy company in Tulsa and was appointed to the State Regents in 2004. He has been in the oil and gas industry since 1983, having previously managed and owned an independent oil and gas company that focused on drilling production of natural gas in Oklahoma and Arkansas. He is a graduate of The University of Tulsa School of Law and a member of the Oklahoma Bar Association. He received his bachelor’s degree from the University of Massachusetts-Amherst.

Price has been a member of the National Petroleum Council, the Governor’s Energy Committee and the Oklahoma Independent Petroleum Association (OIPA). He has served as trustee for the Gilcrease Museum in Tulsa, chairman of the Tulsa City Park and Recreation Board, trustee of the University Center at Tulsa, a member of the Rogers State College Foundation and national co-chair for fundraising at TU’s College of Law.

Appointed in 2005, Parker is chairman of the board for Anchor Stone Co. in Tulsa, a company involved in the production of crushed limestone, sand and gravel. In addition, he serves on the board of directors for SunTx Capital Partners in Dallas, Texas.

Parker has served on numerous civic boards in the Tulsa area, including Friends of the Fairgrounds Foundation, Holland Hall School, the Center for Legislative Excellence and the Metropolitan Tulsa Chamber of Commerce. He is a graduate of the University of Nebraska and earned his MBA from the University of Washington.

Appointed in 2006, Carson, spent the last few years involved in politics and community affairs, including serving as treasurer for the congressional campaigns of her husband, Brad Carson. She has also worked for MCI WorldCom as manager of geographic expansion planning and staff attorney and as a financial analyst for Superstar Satellite Entertainment (now TV Guide).

Carson has been involved in a variety of community service activities, including service on the board of directors of the Claremore Public School Foundation, Tri-County Court-Appointed Special Advocates, and Big Brothers and Big Sisters of Rogers County. She is a graduate of The University of Tulsa School of Law and a member of the Oklahoma Bar Association. She received her bachelor’s degree from Vanderbilt University.

The State Regents are the coordinating board of control for Oklahoma’s 25 public colleges and universities. The nine citizens who comprise the board are appointed to nine-year terms by the governor and confirmed by the State Senate.

Other members of the State Regents are Bill W. Burgess Jr. of Lawton; Marlin “Ike” Glass of Newkirk; James D. “Jimmy” Harrel of Leedey; Cheryl P. Hunter of Oklahoma City; and John Massey of Durant.