Your browser does not support accepted Web standards. This site has been redesigned to meet Section 508 accessibility standards for persons with disabilities and to meet W3C recommendations for forward compatibility. If you are using an older browser (Netscape or IE 4.x and older), the site layout will not display correctly. However, all pertinent information should still be viewable. To better view this site, please download a browser that complies with Web standards. For upgrade information, visit [www.webstandards.org/upgrades]. Comments or questions? Email [accessibility@osrhe.edu].

Skip directly to: Content, Search Box, Main Navigation
 
 
 
 

Teacher Shortage Employment Incentive Program (TSEIP)

Overview
Resources
How to Apply
Eligible Loan Programs
Required Eligibility Forms
TSEIP Coordinators


Overview
The Teacher Shortage Employment Incentive Program (TSEIP) is a legislative ruling administered by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education.  TSEIP was designed to recruit and retain mathematics and science teachers in Oklahoma. Successful candidates will be reimbursed eligible student loan expenses (a set amount, which may vary yearly) or an equivalent cash benefit.

Legislative Ruling (PDF, 80k)

BACK TO LIST


Resources  

State and Federal Programs to Assist Education Majors

*Under this program, borrowers may qualify for forgiveness of the remaining balance due on their eligible federal student loans after they have made 120 payments on those loans under certain repayment plans while employed full time by certain public service employers.

BACK TO LIST


How to Apply
Students must fill out the Participation Agreement Form below and submit it to their college or university TSEIP coordinator no later than the date of their graduation from a four-year college or university in Oklahoma (even if graduating in the fall). Institutions will submit qualifying applications to the State Regents within 10 days of receipt. SPECIAL NOTE: Applicants cannot be certified to teach math or science prior to signing the Participation Agreement Form.

The State Regents office will notify applicants of application receipt, educational loan obligations and any qualifying disbursement benefit opportunities through TSEIP.

For more information about the program, contact the education department at your college or university or contact the State Regents Teacher Recruitment Program at 405.225.9322, 800.858.1840 (toll-free) or dthomas@osrhe.edu.

TSEIP Participation Agreement (PDF, 325k)

BACK TO LIST


Eligible Loan Programs
The following student loan programs are eligible for TSEIP reimbursement:

NOTE: Parent Loans for Students (PLUS) are not eligible.

Students who participate in TSEIP and meet all the eligibility requirements but do not have outstanding loan obligations will receive a cash payment after five years of teaching.

For more information about the program, contact the education department at your college or university or contact the State Regents Teacher Recruitment Program at 405.225.9322, 800.858.1840 (toll-free) or dthomas@osrhe.edu.

BACK TO LIST


Required Eligibility Forms
To determine eligibility, participants should submit all the required forms upon completion of the fifth consecutive year of teaching secondary mathematics or science in Oklahoma public schools. The required forms may be downloaded below.

For more information, contact the State Regents Teacher Recruitment Program at 405.225.9322, 800.858.1840 (toll-free) or dthomas@osrhe.edu.

BACK TO LIST


TSEIP Coordinators

Public Colleges and Universities
Independent Colleges and Universities

Cameron University
Howard Kuchta, Ed.D.
580.581.2566
fkuchta@cameron.edu

East Central University
Dr. Phyllis Isaacs
580.599.5240
phylisa@ecok.edu

Langston University
Gail Anderson
405.466.3382
gyanderson@langston.edu

Northeastern State University
Deborah Landry, Ed.D.
918.444.3742
landryd@nsuok.edu

Northwestern Oklahoma State
University
Dr. Christee Jenlink
580.327.8450
cljenlink@nwosu.edu

Oklahoma Panhandle State
University
Dr. R. Wayne Stewart
580.349.1408
rwstewart@opsu.edu

Oklahoma State University
Leslie K. Evans
405.744.9501
Leslie.K.Evans@okstate.edu

Southeastern Oklahoma State University
Lucretia Scoufos
580.745.2000
lscoufos@se.edu

Southwestern Oklahoma State University
Ed Klein
580.774.3143
ed.klein@swosu.edu

University of Central Oklahoma
Dr. James Machell
405.974.5701
jmachell@uco.edu

University of Oklahoma
Dr. Sherry Cox
405.325.2238
scox@ou.edu

University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma
Dr. Vicki Ferguson
405.574.1253
vferguson@usao.edu

Bacone College
Dr. Sally Nichols-Sharpe
918.781.7291
sharpes@bacone.edu

Mid-America Christian University
Esther Rehbein
405.692.3170
erehbein@macu.edu

Oklahoma Baptist University
Dr. Pam Robinson
405.585.4100
pam.robinson@okbu.edu

Oklahoma Christian University
Dr. Darin Martin
405.425.5433
Darin.Martin@oc.edu

Oklahoma City University
Dr. Elizabeth Willner
405.208.5935
lwillner@okcu.edu

Oklahoma Wesleyan University
Kandi Molder
918.335.6237
kmolder@okwu.edu

Oral Roberts University
Dr. Kim Boyd
918.495.7108
kboyd@oru.edu

Southern Nazarene University
Dr. Tim Taylor
405.491.6317
ttaylor@snu.edu

St. Gregory’s University
Gayle Fischer
405.878.5100, ext. 5181
lgfischer@stgregorys.edu

The University of Tulsa
Dr. Sharon Baker
918.631.2910
bakers@utulsa.edu

BACK TO LIST