Your browser does not support accepted Web standards. This site has been redesigned to meet Section 508 accessibility standards for persons with disabilities and to meet W3C recommendations for forward compatibility. If you are using an older browser (Netscape or IE 4.x and older), the site layout will not display correctly. However, all pertinent information should still be viewable. To better view this site, please download a browser that complies with Web standards. For upgrade information, visit []. Comments or questions? Email [].

Skip directly to: Content, Search Box, Main Navigation

October 24, 2019 - Senator DeWayne Pemberton Receives Higher Education Distinguished Service Award

Media Contact

Sen. Dewayne Pemberton was recognized with the 2019 Distinguished Service Award for Higher Education during today’s meeting of the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education. He was honored for his support of higher education in his role as Chair of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Education and as a member of the Agriculture and Wildlife, Appropriations, Education and Veterans & Military Affairs committees.

“Since his election to the state Senate in 2016, Sen. Pemberton has strongly and consistently supported the investment in higher education and has been one of our top advocates to ensure higher education remains a priority in Oklahoma,” said Chancellor Glen D. Johnson. “He has been steadfast in his support for the state system budget request, including increasing faculty pay, fully funding concurrent enrollment for high school seniors and providing funds for Section 13 offset for our public colleges and universities, which are utilized for deferred maintenance and capital expenditure purposes. We are honored to present him with the 2019 Distinguished Service Award.”

The Distinguished Service Awards for Higher Education recognize individuals who demonstrate distinguished leadership and support of higher education in Oklahoma during the legislative session. It is the highest award presented by the State Regents and the Council of College and University Presidents.