Your browser does not support accepted Web standards. This site has been redesigned to meet Section 508 accessibility standards for persons with disabilities and to meet W3C recommendations for forward compatibility. If you are using an older browser (Netscape or IE 4.x and older), the site layout will not display correctly. However, all pertinent information should still be viewable. To better view this site, please download a browser that complies with Web standards. For upgrade information, visit []. Comments or questions? Email [].

Skip directly to: Content, Search Box, Main Navigation

January 10, 2007 :: New Members Elected to State Regents Faculty Advisory Council

Media Contact

Five faculty members from across the state have been elected to serve on the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education’s Faculty Advisory Council (FAC).

The newly elected members include Dr. Robert Darcy, Oklahoma State University, Stillwater; Dr. Yvonne Montgomery, Langston University, Langston; Dr. Jim Lambert, Cameron University, Lawton; Tracy Jacomo, Seminole State College, Seminole; and Dr. Steve Betts, Southern Nazarene University, Bethany.

Darcy, a Regents Professor, holds a joint appointment in Political Science and Statistics at OSU. Fields include Elections and Voting, Women in Politics and American Government. Darcy has also held visiting professorships in Ireland, England, Australia, Korea and India.

Darcy serves on the Oklahoma Commission on the Status of Women and has served on the Oklahoma Judicial Evaluation Commission. Previously, he worked as an expert witness in election matters for attorneys in six states.

Montgomery is a professor in the Psychology Department at Langston University where she has been employed for 34 years.

A native of Rolling Fork, Miss., Montgomery received her bachelor’s degree from Alcorn State University in Music Education and her master’s and doctor of education degrees from Oklahoma State University in Counseling and Student Personnel Administration.

Montgomery previously served a two-year term on the FAC from 1996 – 1998.

Lambert is Professor of Music at Cameron University, and has been the Director of Percussion Studies and Conductor of the Cameron University Percussion Ensemble since 1976.

A native of Lampasas, Texas, Lambert earned his Bachelor of Music Education degree from Baylor University in 1973, Master of Music degree from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1975, and Doctor of Musical Arts degree from the University of Oklahoma in 1983.

Lambert is a contributing editor to The Instrumentalist magazine, an associate editor of Percussive Notes journal, and has previously served five two-year terms as a member of the Percussive Arts Society's International Board of Directors.

He previously served a two-year term as a member of the Faculty Advisory Council from 2003-2004.
Jacomo has been a full-time social science instructor at Seminole State College since 1989. Her teaching responsibilities include sociology, criminal justice and psychology.

Before becoming an instructor at the college, Jacomo worked 10 years as an Admissions Counselor and served five years as director of the college’s Title III Program. Prior to coming to SSC, she worked in student services at Allen County Community College in Kansas.

Jacomo earned her bachelor’s degree from East Central University in 1995 and her master’s in human relations in 1987.

Jacomo also is active in OK Ahead and the National Council on Family Relations.

Betts is Associate Professor of Music at Southern Nazarene University. He has served on the faculties of Louisiana State University and Wichita State University. For 15 years, Betts operated an independent piano studio in Wichita, Kan.

Betts has presented research and appeared as a panelist and presenter at national conventions of the Music Teachers National Association and Music Educators National Conference. His articles have appeared in The Journal of Research in Music Education, The Bulletin of the Council for Research in Music Education, Keyboard Companion and Keys.

In 2001 Betts served as the Executive Director of the National Conference on Keyboard Pedagogy. He has also recorded for Summit Records and Crimson Heart Records, and has both authored and co-authored books for piano students.

The FAC is an elected committee of faculty who communicate with the Chancellor and the State Regents the views and interests of all Oklahoma college and university faculty on those issues that relate to the constitutional and statutory responsibilities of the State Regents.

Other members of the FAC include: Dr. Roy Knapp, University of Oklahoma; and Russ Calhoun, Oklahoma State University-Oklahoma City.