Your browser does not support accepted Web standards. This site has been redesigned to meet Section 508 accessibility standards for persons with disabilities and to meet W3C recommendations for forward compatibility. If you are using an older browser (Netscape or IE 4.x and older), the site layout will not display correctly. However, all pertinent information should still be viewable. To better view this site, please download a browser that complies with Web standards. For upgrade information, visit []. Comments or questions? Email [].

Skip directly to: Content, Search Box, Main Navigation

December 23, 2011 - Five Oklahoma Students Named Brad Henry International Scholars RSS feed

Media Contact

Five students from Oklahoma’s regional universities have been designated Brad Henry International Scholars and will spend the spring semester participating in an international study abroad program at Swansea University in Wales.

Holly Bates, Rogers State University, Claremore; Emily Kirk, University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma, Chickasha; Lucinda Stambaugh, Northeastern State University, Tahlequah; Amy Watkins, University of Central Oklahoma, Edmond; and Tara Woodmansee, Northwestern Oklahoma State University, Alva, were chosen by their institutions for the international study program that was established by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education in June 2008.

The State Regents provide a $10,000 stipend for students selected to participate in a semester-long study abroad program affiliated with Swansea University. Academic credit for these programs will be awarded by Oklahoma regional universities.

“Studying abroad gives students the opportunity to experience new cultures and gain a greater understanding of today’s global environment,” said Chancellor Glen D. Johnson. “These students’ outstanding academic and leadership skills make them great representatives of Oklahoma’s higher education system.”

Bates is a junior studying liberal arts with an emphasis in English and minoring in business at RSU. This study abroad experience will provide her the opportunity to experience different views, culture and literature. She is in the RSU honors program and president’s leadership class.

Kirk is a senior studying art with a minor in pre-nursing at USAO. Her goal is to become a nurse, working internationally to serve less fortunate populations. She has received many awards, including the George Austin Award for Campus Leadership, the Betty Jernigan Scholarship and the Evolving Leaders Award. She is a member of the Hypatia Honor Society, USAO’s Art Club and the Presidential Leadership Committee. She is also a member of the USAO Student Government Association, serving as the chair of the food committee.

Stambaugh is studying English and theatre at NSU. The many things she would like to do in the future include helping create the rides at amusement parks like Disney World or the Wizarding World of Harry Potter at Universal Orlando and being a librarian to share the joy of reading with as many teens as possible. She has received the Academic Excellence award for her work toward her bachelor’s in theatre and is a member of the President’s Honor Roll and Alpha Psi Omega, a national honorary theatre fraternity.

Watkins is a junior studying music business with a minor in organizational communications at UCO’s Academy of Contemporary Music. After graduation, she would like to continue her education by earning a master’s in higher education and a juris doctorate in copyright law. She is active in her sorority, Alpha Gamma Delta, and is a recipient of UCO’s Leaders of Tomorrow scholarship, which promotes personal leadership development and community service.

Woodmansee is a senior studying education at NWOSU. After graduation, she plans to teach in Oklahoma while working on her Spanish language fluency. After teaching for several years, she plans to apply for a teaching position at a Defense Department school so she can teach overseas on a military base. She is a 2011 recipient of the Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges and the Geraldine Burns Award for Excellence in English Studies.