Your browser does not support accepted Web standards. This site has been redesigned to meet Section 508 accessibility standards for persons with disabilities and to meet W3C recommendations for forward compatibility. If you are using an older browser (Netscape or IE 4.x and older), the site layout will not display correctly. However, all pertinent information should still be viewable. To better view this site, please download a browser that complies with Web standards. For upgrade information, visit []. Comments or questions? Email [].

Skip directly to: Content, Search Box, Main Navigation

May 20, 2013 - 10 Oklahoma Students Named Brad Henry International Scholars RSS feed

Media Contact

Ten students from Oklahoma’s regional universities have been designated Brad Henry International Scholars for the 2013-14 academic year. These students will spend a semester participating in an international study abroad program at Swansea University in Wales.

Catherine Phipps, East Central University, Ada; Britany Pyfer, Cameron University, Lawton; Demetra Wilkerson, Southeastern Oklahoma State University, Durant; and Shantwynice Wright, Langston University, Langston, will spend the fall 2013 semester abroad. Martyne Chanslor, Northeastern State University, Tahlequah; Christopher Collins, University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma, Chickasha; Delta Farmer, Northwestern Oklahoma State University, Enid; Hannah Kostelecky, University of Central Oklahoma, Edmond; Will Robinson, Southwestern Oklahoma State University, Weatherford; and Leah Tecle, Rogers State University, Claremore, will spend the spring 2014 semester abroad.

The international study program, which was established by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education in June 2008, provides a $10,000 stipend for students to participate in a semester-long study abroad program affiliated with Swansea. Academic credit for these programs will be awarded by Oklahoma regional universities. Students are nominated for the program by their institutions.

“Serving as a Brad Henry International Scholar gives students the opportunity to gain new experiences and a practical understanding of today’s global economy,” said Chancellor Glen D. Johnson. “We congratulate each of these students for this honor and recognize the academic achievements and leadership skills that will make them outstanding representatives of our colleges and universities.”

Phipps is a junior majoring in biology with minors in chemistry and Russian at ECU. After graduation, she hopes to attend medical school at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center. Phipps is a member of ECU’s honors program and Tigerland Band. She is also the recipient of ECU’s Presidential and Tigerland Band scholarships. Phipps is currently the president of the Russian Club.

Pyfer is a senior majoring in communication with a minor in foreign languages at Cameron. After graduation, she aspires to become a television producer. Pyfer is a Presidential Leadership Scholar, member of the Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society and recipient of the Oklahoma Broadcast Association scholarship.

Wilkerson is a senior studying English and communications at Southeastern. She hopes to earn her master’s in English. At Southeastern, Wilkerson has served as president of the Student Government Association and a member of the honors program, Student Senate, Alpha Chi and Lambda Pi Eta. She also worked as the editor-in-chief of the honors publication. Wilkerson has been on the president’s and dean’s honor roll and is a Nigh Leadership Academy Scholar.

Wright is a junior studying sociology at LU. She is a member of the E.P. McCabe Honors Program and a Regents Scholar. Wright is on the president’s and dean’s honor rolls and is ranked in the top five in her graduating class.

Chanslor is a junior majoring in English with minors in applied linguistics and music at NSU. After graduation, she plans to earn her master’s in linguistics. Chanslor is in the Honors College and is on the president’s and dean’s honor rolls. She is active in the community, volunteering at the Tahlequah Pregnancy Center and AWANA. Additionally, Chanslor has worked with iGo Global as a summer intern to organize, prepare and lead camps for students traveling overseas.

Collins is a senior majoring in political science with a minor in economics at USAO. After graduation, he plans to attend law school. Collins is a member of USAO’s President’s Leadership Council, Student Government Association and Young Democrats of Oklahoma. He is a recipient of the George and Donna Nigh Public Service and Mark Walter Howery scholarships and the USAO Minerva Emerging Leader award.

Farmer is a senior studying psychology with a minor in biology at NWOSU. In the future, her plan is to become a licensed counselor. Farmer has been on the Vice President’s Honor Roll and the recipient of the Delta Zeta academic honor. She has been a member of the Red and Black Scroll Sophomore Honor Society, Psychology Club and Wesley House.

Kostelecky is studying kinesiology in exercise fitness management with a minor in chemistry at UCO. In the future, she would like to utilize her medical skills in Africa, working with Doctors Without Borders to aid communities without access to medical care.

Robinson is majoring in political science with a minor in accounting and international relations at SWOSU. After graduation, he will pursue a law degree. Robinson is a member of the State Regents Student Advisory Board. He is a recipient of the John and Mary Nichols and Gaylord-Pickens Oklahoma History scholarships and the General George C. Marshall Award. At SWOSU, Robinson has been a member of the Student Senate, Presidential Leadership Class, Student Government Association, Mind Games Team and Young Democrats.

Tecle is working toward her degree in psychology with a minor in humanities at RSU. As part of RSU’s honors program, she has maintained a high GPA while taking honors courses.