Your browser does not support accepted Web standards. This site has been redesigned to meet Section 508 accessibility standards for persons with disabilities and to meet W3C recommendations for forward compatibility. If you are using an older browser (Netscape or IE 4.x and older), the site layout will not display correctly. However, all pertinent information should still be viewable. To better view this site, please download a browser that complies with Web standards. For upgrade information, visit []. Comments or questions? Email [].

Skip directly to: Content, Search Box, Main Navigation

September 24, 2020 - Higher Education Chancellor Appointed to Serve on AASCU Council of State Representatives

Media Contact

Oklahoma State System of Higher Education Chancellor Glen D. Johnson has been appointed to serve on the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) Council of State Representatives. AASCU is a membership organization of nearly 400 public colleges, universities, and higher education systems that works to expand student access, success and opportunity; promote world-class teaching and experiential learning tied to career advancement; and support applied research and service that advances economic development and quality of life in communities across the country. Previously, Johnson served on the AASCU Board of Directors from 2003-2006 and again from 2013-2016.

“We at AASCU are honored that Chancellor Johnson has agreed to serve on the Council of State Representatives,” said AASCU President Mildred GarcĂ­a. “His experience as both a campus president and as the chancellor of the Oklahoma State System of Higher Education will be a tremendous asset to all our campuses.”

The Council of State Representatives, AASCU’s public policy development arm, frames AASCU’s federal and state policy priorities and guides its public advocacy efforts. The Council consists of appointed presidents and chancellors of member institutions and higher education systems.

“I appreciate the opportunity to serve AASCU in this capacity,” said Johnson. “The work of this council is vitally important to the member colleges and universities as well as the faculty, staff and students they serve. I look forward to collaborating with my colleagues as higher education state systems and institutions across the nation continue to navigate this challenging landscape in the wake of COVID-19.”

Johnson was named chancellor of the Oklahoma State System of Higher Education in January 2007 following a national search. Before assuming the role of chancellor, he served as the 16th president of Southeastern Oklahoma State University in Durant for 10 years. He was also director of public policy and adjunct professor of law at the University of Oklahoma College of Law. Prior to his work at OU, he served in the Oklahoma House of Representatives from 1982 to 1996 and was speaker of the House from 1990 to 1996. At the time of his election as speaker, he was the youngest sitting speaker in the United States. Johnson is an honors graduate of OU with an undergraduate degree in political science and a juris doctorate from the OU College of Law, and is a member of Phi Beta Kappa. He was inducted into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame in 2006 and the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame in 2016. Johnson was selected by Leadership Oklahoma to receive the 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award, which is the organization’s highest individual honor.