Your browser does not support accepted Web standards. This site has been redesigned to meet Section 508 accessibility standards for persons with disabilities and to meet W3C recommendations for forward compatibility. If you are using an older browser (Netscape or IE 4.x and older), the site layout will not display correctly. However, all pertinent information should still be viewable. To better view this site, please download a browser that complies with Web standards. For upgrade information, visit []. Comments or questions? Email [].

Skip directly to: Content, Search Box, Main Navigation

july 19, 2017 - Higher Education Chancellor Elected as SHEEO Chair-Elect RSS feed

Media Contact

Oklahoma State System of Higher Education Chancellor Glen D. Johnson was recently elected chair-elect of the State Higher Education Executive Officers (SHEEO) Executive Committee. In this role, he will serve as chair-elect during 2017-18 and as chair during 2018-19. Eileen Klein, president of the Arizona Board of Regents, will serve as chair and Barbara Dameron, cabinet secretary, New Mexico Higher Education Department, will serve as treasurer in 2017-18.

Johnson served the SHEEO Executive Committee as treasurer during 2016-17. He was previously elected to the Executive Committee in 2015 and 2014, and also served consecutive two-year terms in 2008 and 2010.

“Glen Johnson has been a true leader for higher education and understands the challenges facing our students, our colleges, and our states,” said George Pernsteiner, president of SHEEO. “His steady gaze on the future and on what is important will help guide SHEEO.”

The Executive Committee is responsible for shaping SHEEO’s federal priorities and strategies and for leading its communications with Congress, the U.S. Department of Education and other federal agencies.

“I am honored to serve as chair-elect for SHEEO’s Executive Committee,” said Johnson. “I count it a privilege to collaborate with the higher education leaders and education partners in other states to ensure our nation’s higher education system continues to equip graduates with the skills necessary to meet workforce needs in today’s global economy.”

SHEEO, the national association of the chief executives of statewide governing boards and coordinating boards for postsecondary education, works to assist its members and states in developing and sustaining excellent systems of higher education.

Johnson was named chancellor of the Oklahoma State System of Higher Education in January 2007 following a national search. Before assuming the role of chancellor, he served as the 16th president of Southeastern Oklahoma State University in Durant for 10 years. He was also director of public policy and adjunct professor of law at the University of Oklahoma College of Law. Prior to his work at OU, he served in the Oklahoma House of Representatives from 1982 to 1996 and was speaker of the House from 1990 to 1996. At the time of his election as speaker, he was the youngest sitting speaker in the United States. Johnson is an honors graduate of OU with an undergraduate degree in political science and a juris doctorate from the OU College of Law, and is a member of Phi Beta Kappa. He was inducted into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame in 2006 and the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame in 2016.