Your browser does not support accepted Web standards. This site has been redesigned to meet Section 508 accessibility standards for persons with disabilities and to meet W3C recommendations for forward compatibility. If you are using an older browser (Netscape or IE 4.x and older), the site layout will not display correctly. However, all pertinent information should still be viewable. To better view this site, please download a browser that complies with Web standards. For upgrade information, visit []. Comments or questions? Email [].

Skip directly to: Content, Search Box, Main Navigation

August 8, 2007 :: State Regents to Kick Off Fall Semester of Degree Program for Adults

Media Contact

What: News conference with photo, video and news opportunity as higher education officials kick off the fall semester for adults who want to finish their college degrees

When: 10-10:30 a.m., Friday, Aug. 10

Where: Oklahoma State Capitol Blue Room, 2nd floor

Who: Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, Oklahoma college presidents, student currently enrolled in the program

Why: To announce fall enrollment for “ReachHigher: Oklahoma’s Degree Completion Program,” a new, flexible, affordable degree program for working adults who want to finish their bachelor’s degrees. The program is offered at eight of Oklahoma’s public universities.

Visuals: Large-screen visual graphics, video of TV commercial

Speakers: Chancellor Glen D. Johnson, Northeastern State University Acting President Kim Cherry, Langston University ReachHigher student Eddie Johns

Background: ReachHigher was created because more than 69,000 Oklahomans have attended college for at least two years but don’t have a bachelor’s degree. Participants take college courses in a flexible, affordable, adult-friendly format and, when finished, will receive a Bachelor of Science in organizational leadership. The universities that currently offer the degree include: Northeastern State University in Tahlequah, Cameron University in Lawton, East Central University in Ada, Langston University in Langston, Northwestern Oklahoma State University in Alva, Rogers State University in Claremore, Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford, and the University of Central Oklahoma in Edmond.