Skip to main content

July 14, 2005 :: Hunter Will Lead State Higher Education Board in 2005-06

Media Contact

An Oklahoma City attorney has been elected to chair the state’s coordinating board for Oklahoma’s public colleges and universities during the coming year.

At their regularly scheduled meeting recently, the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education named Cheryl P. Hunter of Oklahoma City as board chairman. She will lead the nine-member State Regents throughout the 2005-06 fiscal year, which ends June 30, 2006.

“The Legislature and the governor were very good to higher education in the last session,” said Hunter. “We must be good stewards of those funds and pay particular attention to the capital projects. In the next year, we will also continue to focus on making certain that financial aid is available for students to assure affordability and access to Oklahoma’s public institutions.”

Other officers include John Massey of Durant, vice chairman; Bill W. Burgess Jr. of Lawton, secretary, and Ronald H. White, M.D. of Oklahoma City, assistant secretary.

Hunter was appointed in 2000 and is a partner in the law firm of Kirk & Chaney. Her law practice involves employment and commercial litigation, real estate law, corporate/commercial law and insurance/receivership law. Hunter graduated from Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, in 1979 with a bachelor’s degree in business administration and received a juris doctorate degree in 1982 from the University of Oklahoma, Norman.

She has been active in state and county bar association activities, having served the Oklahoma County Bar Association as vice president, as well as being president of the Young Lawyers Division; chairman of the Law Day Committee, the Judicial Evaluation Committee and the Bench and Bar Committee; and vice chairman of the Constitutional Bicentennial Committee. She has served the Oklahoma Bar Association as chairman of the Financial Institutions and Commercial Law Section and as a board member of the Young Lawyers Section. She is a Master in the American Inns of Court XXII-Luther Bohanon Inn.

Hunter formerly served as chairman of the Oklahoma Indigent Defense System Board, as a commissioner on the Oklahoma Commission for Teacher Preparation and as a member of the Governor's Commission on Government Performance.

Massey serves as chairman of the board for the First United Bank and Trust, headquartered in Durant. He is also chairman of the advisory board of the Oklahoma Small Business Administration and serves on the board of directors for the Oklahoma State Chamber of Commerce.

Appointed to the State Regents in 1992 and reappointed in 2001, Massey earned a bachelor’s degree from Southeastern Oklahoma State University, Durant, and received the Distinguished Alumnus Award from SEOSU in 1984. He was elected as a state representative in 1960 while a senior in college and served two terms. In 1964, he was elected to the State Senate where he served two terms.

Active in several civic and professional organizations, Massey has served on the Ethics Commission, the Oklahoma Historical Society Board and the Securities Commission. He was inducted into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame in 2002.

Burgess is chairman of the board of Techrizon, a software engineering company, and chairman of the board of Vortex, Inc., an investment corporation. He was appointed to the State Regents in 1993 and reappointed in 2002.

Burgess graduated from Cameron University, Lawton, with a bachelor’s degree and received his juris doctorate from the OU School of Law. He has served in a number of capacities on many education, technology, business, civic and alumni organizations and has been the recipient of several outstanding alumnus and civic awards. He serves as chairman of the Oklahoma Business Roundtable, Inc. and the board of directors of the Oklahoma State Chamber of Commerce.

Burgess served on the Governor’s Science and Technology Advisory Council, served as president of the Southwest Oklahoma Technology Association and is on the board of directors of the Oklahoma Technology Development Corporation. He also served as a member of the steering committee for the Oklahoma EDGE (Economic Development Generating Excellence) project.

Appointed to the State Regents in 2003, White is president of Oklahoma Cardiovascular Associates. He serves as a member of the board of managers for Oklahoma Heart Hospital and as a clinical assistant professor at the OU College of Medicine. He has also served as medical director for the Oklahoma Heart Center and medical staff president for Integris Baptist Medical Center.\

White received his bachelor’s and medical degrees and a cardiology fellowship from OU. He served as a member of the OU Board of Regents for 14 years and was a member of the OU Foundation’s board of trustees. He has been a member of the board of directors for Oklahoma Gas and Electric since 1989 and is a founding member of the board of commissioners for the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation.

The State Regents are the coordinating board of control for Oklahoma’s 25 public colleges and universities. The nine citizens who comprise the board are appointed by the governor and confirmed by the State Senate.

Other members of the State Regents include Marlin “Ike” Glass Jr. of Newkirk; James D. “Jimmy” Harrel of Leedey; Joseph L. Parker of Tulsa; William Stuart Price of Tulsa; and Carl R. Renfro of Ponca City.