Oklahoma Higher Education Campus E-Clips sponsored by the Communicators Council

October 2010

Tulsa Community College Honors Education Accomplishments of Gov. Brad Henry


Gov. Henry Honored at TCC
Pictured left to right are: TCC First Lady Stacey McKeon; TCC President Tom McKeon; First Lady Kim Henry; Gov. Brad Henry; Mary Shaw, Vision Awards Dinner chairwoman..

The ballroom of the Renaissance Tulsa Hotel swelled with nearly 500 people gathered to honor Gov. Brad Henry at the 2010 Vision in Education Leadership Award dinner. The Tulsa Community College Foundation awarded Gov. Henry for his consistent support of education during his two terms in office. The event raised $226,000 for scholarships and special programs for students and faculty at TCC and is hosted each year by the TCC Foundation.

Cherokee Nation Businesses was the presenting sponsor of the evening. Oklahoma Magazine was the media sponsor. Stuart Price, chair of the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, was the honorary chair for the dinner, and Mary Shaw, a TCC Foundation trustee, was Vision Dinner chair.

Guests enjoyed a private champagne reception with Gov. Henry prior to the event and were welcomed by upbeat music played by TCC Signature Symphony Big Band. The dinner tables were Oklahoma-themed in honor of the governor, with centerpieces of yellow roses and blue hydrangeas by Toni’s Flowers.

Former Oklahoma Attorney General Mike Turpen served as master of ceremonies and introduced speakers Principal Chief of the Cherokee Nation Chad Smith, TCC President Tom McKeon and Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education Chancellor Glen D. Johnson. Each praised Henry for the educational achievements made during his two terms. Among many of his initiatives, Henry signed a 3 percent budget increase for higher education amid a challenging economic climate in 2009. He set high academic standards for schools and increased student participation in Oklahoma’s Promise, a college payment plan for low-income families, resulting in a growth of 12,000 to 19,000 students during his terms. During his two four-year terms in office, Oklahoma experienced a more than 26 percent increase in the number of college degrees earned.

The Vision Award is presented annually to an individual dedicated to education excellence and community leadership. Past honorees include Montie Box, David Boren, John-Kelly Warren and John Gaberino Sr.

Shaw’s dinner committee included: Alex Bowles, Tiffani Bruton, Mary Ann Hille, Sharon King Davis, Dave Kollmann, Bill Lissau and Pierce Norton. Honorary hosts of the event were Howard and Billie Barnett, Dr. Don and Susanne Betz, Jim and Janet Cameron, John and Marge Gaberino, Dr. Tom and Stacey McKeon, Bill and Monica Lissau, Jody Parker, Stuart and Linda Price, Dr. B. Frank and Mary Shaw, Steve and Liz Stidham and Tom and D'Anna Vogt.

Guests included Mayor Dewey and Victoria Barlett, Howard and Billie Barnett, Phil and Adriane Lakin, Chief Chad and Bobbie Smith, Stuart and Dana Solomon, Alex and Mandy Bowles, Jackie Kouri and Gary Paxton. Also, Lt. Gov. Jari Askins, Speaker of the House Chris Benge, Rep. Jeannie McDaniel, Secretary of State Susan Savage, Rep. Jabar Shumate, and former Tulsa Mayor Kathy Taylor.

Guests from area colleges and universities included Oklahoma State University President Burns Hargis; OSU-Tulsa President Howard Barnett; Northeastern State University President Don Betz; Oral Roberts University President Mark Rutland; University of Tulsa Vice President of government and community relations Susan Neal; Rogers State University President Larry Rice, Oklahoma Wesleyan University President Everett Piper; Langston University President JoAnn Haysbert; Superintendant of Tulsa Technology Center Kara Gae Neal; North Texas Community College Consortium representative Dr. Jesse Jones; University of Phoenix representative Lori Santiago; President of the Tulsa Schools Foundation Lucky Lamons; President of the Tulsa School Board Mark Poole; TCC President Emeritus Dean VanTrease; and President of the TCC Faculty Association Steven Woods. Top sponsors included the Anne and Henry Zarrow Foundation; American Airlines; Bank of Oklahoma; the Barnett Family Foundation; Cancer Treatment Centers of America; CloseBend; Cox Communications; the Gaberinos and GableGotwals; IDG Inc.; the Lobeck Taylor Foundation; the Maxine and Jack Zarrow Foundation; Evelyn Nienhuis; ONEOK; Stuart and Linda Price; Samson, Charles and Lynn Schusterman Family Foundation; and Dr. B. Frank and Mary Shaw.

Campus E-Clips is published by the Communicators Council, an advisory group to the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education comprised of Oklahoma higher education public information officers. All stories are submitted to a review panel of council members for editing and selection. To submit a story, please contact the participating council member from your institution. Stories must meet newsletter submission guidelines. Click here to view the Guidelines. For additional information, email newsletter@osrhe.edu. Site hosted by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education. Disclaimer