Oklahoma Higher Education Campus E-Clips sponsored by the Communicators Council

October 2011

TCC Foundation Honors Schustermans for a Job Well-Done


TCC Honors Schustermans
Stacy and Lynn Schusterman receive the Vision in Education Leadership Award at the Vision dinner at the Tulsa Convention Center Sept. 24. Also pictured are Dr. Tom McKeon, Tulsa Community College President, and Pierce Norton, Dinner Chair. This year’s dinner raised a record $294,195 for scholarship and academic and student development programs.

A job well-done was the sentiment throughout the 2011 Tulsa Community College Foundation Vision in Education Leadership Award Dinner honoring Lynn and Stacy Schusterman Sept. 22. Nearly 400 family, friends and community members gathered to thank the Schustemans for their generous support of education. The TCC Foundation celebrated the most successful event in its 12-year history raising a record breaking $295,000 which will provide scholarship and academic programs for students at TCC.

From early childhood programs to college graduation opportunities, the Charles and Lynn Schusterman Family Foundation impacts Tulsa area students all along their educational journeys. The Foundation’s Founder and Chair Lynn Schusterman and her daughter Stacy Schusterman, who serves as vice president, have worked to strengthen and enrich the global Jewish community, as well as enhance the quality of life in their hometown of Tulsa for more than 25 years. Their work in Tulsa has especially impacted the areas of education, child advocacy and youth development.

Samson was the lead sponsor of the evening. Bill Lobeck and former Mayor Kathy Taylor served as honorary chairs. Pierce H. Norton II, a TCC Foundation trustee, was event chair. John Bowen was honorary table host chair. The Vision Dinner committee included James J. Bender, Konnie Boulter, D. Alex Bowles, Tiffani J. Bruton, Teresa Meinders Burkett, Jackie Kouri, Stephen L. Mackin, Randy Macon, Larry Mocha, Joan P. Parkhurst, and David Stewart.

Guests were welcomed in the lobby of the Tulsa Convention Center by more than 100 Tulsa Achieves students who served as greeters giving applause and smiles of thanks as guests entered. Many of the students were beneficiaries of the Schustermans’ generous donations to the TCC Tulsa Achieves Textbook Trust to support students who need financial assistance purchasing college textbooks.
TCC’s Student Jazz Ensemble kept toes tapping while guests enjoyed a wine reception prior to the event. The dinner tables were elegantly dressed with centerpieces of orchids and hydrangeas by Toni’s Flowers.

Taylor served as master of ceremonies. A special invocation was given by Rabbi Marc Fitzerman. Speakers included Jim Cameron, TCC Foundation chair, Pierce H. Norton, II, Vision Dinner committee chair, and TCC President Tom McKeon. Each praised the Schustermans for their generosity, service and improvements to the quality of life in Tulsa. Among their numerous gifts, the Schustermans enhanced Tulsa Public Schools through its support of the Teach for America program. They impact post-secondary education and workforce training in Tulsa through partnerships with TCC and Tulsa Technology Center. They were also the primary contributors to the purchase of University of Oklahoma’s Tulsa campus and recently were the primary donors to the addition of a 22,000-square-foot, two-story library at the OU-Tulsa campus.

The Vision Award is presented annually to an individual dedicated to education excellence and community leadership. Past honorees include Gov. Brad Henry, Montie Box, David Boren, John-Kelly Warren, Michael Johnson, George Kaiser, John Gaberino, Ken Lackey and Dr. Paula Marshall.

Visionary level sponsor was Samson. Leadership sponsors were Bank of Oklahoma & the George Kaiser Family Foundation; Nadel and Gussman Energy, LLC; ONEOK; The Oxley Foundation; Williams; and Anne & Henry Zarrow Foundation. Excellence level sponsors were Senator Tom Adelson; American Airlines; Bank of America; Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Oklahoma; Cancer Treatment Centers of America; Cherokee; Nation Businesses; Bryan Close; Cox Business; Dollar Thrifty Automotive Group; Halliburton; Helmerich & Payne; Jackie Kouri & Gary Paxton; Lobeck Taylor Family Foundation ; McDonald, McCann & Metcalf, LLP; Evelyn Nienhuis; Omni Air International ; OSU-Tulsa/Barnett Family Foundation; Scandrill; Dr. B. Frank & Mary Shaw; Unit Corporation; University of Tulsa; WNBA Tulsa Shock/American Fidelity; and John Steele Zink Foundation.

Campus E-Clips is published by the Communicators Council, an advisory group to the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education comprised of Oklahoma higher education public information officers. All stories are submitted to a review panel of council members for editing and selection. To submit a story, please contact the participating council member from your institution. Stories must meet newsletter submission guidelines. Click here to view the Guidelines. For additional information, email newsletter@osrhe.edu. Site hosted by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education. Disclaimer