Oklahoma Higher Education Campus E-Clips sponsored by the Communicators Council

June 2012

Southeastern Professor Receives Teaching Excellence Award From Business Accreditation Council


Southeastern's Dr. Lawrence Silver.
Dr. Lawrence Silver joined the Southeastern faculty in 2006.

The Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP) announced recently that Dr. Lawrence S. Silver of Southeastern Oklahoma State University has received the 2012 ACBSP Teaching Excellence Award for the Southwestern Council (Region 6).

The ACBSP recognizes individuals each year who exemplify teaching excellence in the classroom. The University of Indianapolis–Athens Campus is the financial sponsor for the 2012 award.

Silver, associate professor of management and marketing, will be honored, along with other regional recipients, at the 2012 ACBSP Annual Conference in Baltimore, Maryland.

He will receive a medallion and a $100 check.

Two International Teaching Excellence Award recipients will be announced at a special Salute to Regions luncheon, one from a baccalaureate/graduate degree-granting institution and one from an associate degree-granting institution.

As a regional recipient, Silver is now a candidate for the international award.

"I am honored to receive this award and I am proud to represent the truly outstanding faculty of the John Massey School of Business,’’ Silver said.

“Dr. Silver is very deserving of this recognition,” said Southeastern president Larry Minks. “His ability to relate to students is a real asset and enhances the learning process in the classroom.

The quality teaching of such faculty members as Dr. Silver plays a big role in the recruiting and retention of students (to Southeastern)."

Silver, who joined the John Massey School of Business faculty at Southeastern in 2006, earned his bachelor’s degree at Tulane University and his graduate degrees at Louisiana Tech University.

“Dr. Silver is a dedicated and sought-after teacher who strives to help his students get the most from their studies," said Dr. Kitty Campbell, professor and interim chair of management and marketing and accounting and finance.

“He serves on a number of university committees and oversees assurance of learning and strategic planning for the John Massey School of Business.

Dr. Silver is also an active researcher. He has an impressive list of manuscripts that have been published in peer-reviewed journals and has made numerous presentations at academic conferences."

The Associate Degree Commission of ACBSP established the International Teaching Excellence Award in 1995 to recognize outstanding classroom teachers.

In 2002, the Baccalaureate Degree Commission created a similar award to recognize excellence in teaching at the baccalaureate degree level.

ACBSP is the only specialized accrediting body for business schools that presents an award recognizing excellence in teaching, open to application by the entire membership.

“It is more important than ever for business programs to produce graduates who are ready to enter the global marketplace,” said Douglas Viehland, ACBSP executive director. “ACBSP has a mission to develop, promote and recognize best practices that contribute to continuous improvement of business education. Recognition of teaching excellence is one way we achieve this goal,” he stated.

ACBSP currently has more than 1,051 member campuses in 50 countries and 10 regions.

Campus E-Clips is published by the Communicators Council, an advisory group to the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education comprised of Oklahoma higher education public information officers. All stories are submitted to a review panel of council members for editing and selection. To submit a story, please contact the participating council member from your institution. Stories must meet newsletter submission guidelines. Click here to view the Guidelines. For additional information, email newsletter@osrhe.edu. Site hosted by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education. Disclaimer