Oklahoma Higher Education Campus E-Clips sponsored by the Communicators Council

November 2012

Southeastern Wins Regional Flying Championship to Advance to Nationals

The Southeastern Oklahoma State University aviation program has a long and proud history of excellence.

A new chapter was added to this history Oct. 7-12 when the Southeastern Flight Team was crowned champions of the National Intercollegiate Flying Association (NIFA) Region VI competition. Southeastern, which hosted the event, placed first overall, as well as in both the ground and flying events.

The 13-member team now advances to national competition, scheduled for May 6-11 at The Ohio State University.

“This is a great accomplishment for Southeastern,’’ said Southeastern president Larry Minks. “Our aviation sciences institute is to be congratulated for putting together a first-class event to make the city and University proud. And the results demonstrate the quality of programs we have in place."

Dr. David Conway serves as director of the Southeastern Aviation Sciences Institute.

“I am extremely proud of the SE Flight Team –- their hard work and dedication resulted in winning first place as well as being named Region VI Champions,’’ Conway said. “Congratulations to all the team members, professor George Jacox (flight team advisor), professor Kyle Thomas (Region VI competition coordinator), and Amanda Steele (Region VI President)."

Team members are Jordan Powell (captain), Ping Cheng, Ryan Gornto, Scott Sundstrom, Robert Jacobs (captain), Nathan Alcantara, Douglas Cobb, Alec Maloy, Nikola Topalovic, Michael Odea (captain), Joshua Ashcraft, Greg Eichten, and David Robinson.

“This was such an amazing week for the Southeastern Aviation Sciences Institute,’’ said Kyle Thomas. “What a great group of young men. Thanks to all who made this week possible.”

Added George Jacox: “This group of students worked very hard and it paid off for them. We look forward to competing in nationals next spring."

All flying events and Aircraft Preflight Inspection were held at Eaker Field; the remaining ground events were on the Southeastern campus.

Campus E-Clips is published by the Communicators Council, an advisory group to the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education comprised of Oklahoma higher education public information officers. All stories are submitted to a review panel of council members for editing and selection. To submit a story, please contact the participating council member from your institution. Stories must meet newsletter submission guidelines. Click here to view the Guidelines. For additional information, email newsletter@osrhe.edu. Site hosted by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education. Disclaimer