Oklahoma Higher Education Campus E-Clips sponsored by the Communicators Council

May 2013

RSU Public TV Earns Six National Awards

Rogers State University Public Television earned six awards during the 34th Annual Telly Awards, a national competition recognizing excellence in programming excellence.

The station earned the recognition for its original documentary for “Gilcrease Museum: America's Story” as well as its promotional spots that celebrated the station's 25th anniversary. The RSU work was selected for honors from among nearly 11,000 entries from all 50 states and numerous countries.

Revealing the story behind one of the world's largest collection of American art and artifacts, the Gilcrease Museum documentary was narrated by Emmy-nominated actress Jeanne Tripplehorn. The documentary received three Bronze Awards in the categories of cultural, education and travel/tourism documentaries.

RSU Public TV staff recognized for their work on the documentary were Tim Yoder, producer, co-writer, videographer and editor; Bryan Crain, associate producer, music and graphics; RSU student Jessica Blythe-Ammons, associate producer and archival acquisition; and RSU student Kevin Hoffman, lighting and best boy.

To celebrate the station's 25th anniversary, the station developed a series of promotional spots that featured famed journalist Bill Kurtis. The spots received three awards in the promotional campaign: not-for-profit image campaign and two awards in the individual promotion category with one each for not-for-profit image promotion and not-for-profit image "use of humor."

Television staff recognized for their work were producer/editor Bryan Crain and videographer/editor Tim Yoder.

Founded in 1979, the Telly Awards is the premier award honoring outstanding local, regional and cable TV commercials, programs, video and film production, and online commercials, video and films. Winners represent the best work of the world's most respected advertising agencies, production companies, television stations, cable operators and corporate video departments.

A prestigious judging panel of over 500 accomplished industry professionals judged the competition, upholding the historical standard of excellence that Telly represents.

RSU Public TV is the only full-powered public television station licensed to a public university in Oklahoma. RSU Public TV provides educational, cultural and general interest programming to an audience of 1.3 million viewers in northeastern Oklahoma and the Tulsa metropolitan area. RSU Public TV broadcasts via DISH, DirectTV and UHF Channel 35 and is carried on 76 cable systems including Cox Cable Channel 109 (35.1) and 110 (35.2) in Tulsa and Claremore.

For more information, visit www.rsupublictv.org.

Campus E-Clips is published by the Communicators Council, an advisory group to the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education comprised of Oklahoma higher education public information officers. All stories are submitted to a review panel of council members for editing and selection. To submit a story, please contact the participating council member from your institution. Stories must meet newsletter submission guidelines. Click here to view the Guidelines. For additional information, email newsletter@osrhe.edu. Site hosted by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education. Disclaimer