Oklahoma Higher Education Campus E-Clips sponsored by the Communicators Council

November 2014

Baser, Marotte Inducted Into USAO Alumni Hall of Fame

USAO's Dot Marotte.
Dr. Dorothy “Dot” Marotte and Ric Baser (not pictured) were inducted in the USAO Alumni Hall of Fame on Nov. 10 as part of the annual Alumni Homecoming Celebration.

Dr. Ric Baser and Dr. Dorothy “Dot” Marotte were inducted into the Alumni Hall of Fame at the University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma for their enduring contribution to education.

Baser, a 1979 drama graduate from USAO, was named president of Northwest Vista College in San Antonio on Aug. 15.

“I am overwhelmed and honored by the selection into this prestigious group of alumni,” Baser said. “I am a proud graduate, lifetime alumni member and former employee of this institution that has been instrumental in my success and 33-year career in higher education.”

Baser was the vice president and chief academic officer at Tulsa Community College, where he led and provided fiscal guidance to six of the president’s cabinet members including campus provosts, associate vice presidents, deans and directors. He worked alongside 1,500 academic and student affairs employees.

His prior experience also includes serving as vice president for academic affairs at Rose State College and Seminole State College, instructor at the University of Oklahoma and Oklahoma State University and two positions at USAO – director of alumni and school relations and director of school relations and student activities.

Baser holds a master of arts in speech from Oklahoma State University and a doctor of education in higher education administration from Oklahoma State University.

He was the 2013 recipient of the Service Award from the Oklahoma Association of Community Colleges as “The Golden Voice” of the All Oklahoma Team Luncheon, and the 2008 recipient of the Phi Theta Kappa Hallmark Award for Distinguished College Administrator. Baser was the first recipient of the Young Alumni Hall of Fame Award (Rising Star Award) from Oklahoma State University in 1999.

He was listed on the National Deans’ List in 1991-92, was named to the Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society at Oklahoma State University and received the Robert B. Kamm Distinguished Graduate Fellowship, Educational Administration and Higher Education Department, Oklahoma State University in 1991.

Baser has served with numerous college and community service organizations including the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, Oklahoma Academy for State Goals, Tulsa Area Workforce Investment Board, Vision 2 Grassroots Committee, Tulsa County Area Superintendent’s Association, Theatre Tulsa Advisory Board, Tulsa CAP Neighborhood Promise Advisory Committee and many others. He is a graduate of Leadership Tulsa.

Though not an alumna of the university, Marotte was a part of the faculty at OCW/OCLA/USAO from 1960-74.

She taught theory and activity classes, introduced gymnastics to the curriculum, supervised student teachers and served as the chairperson of the health, physical education and recreation department.

Marotte was the president of the OCW Faculty Association and Faculty Senate at the time the college transitioned to OCLA.

She said the hard work and frustration during this change were necessary in providing a base for what is now USAO.

After a tour of duty with the Women’s Army Corps, Marotte earned her bachelor’s degree from the University of Houston in 1955. She taught in Springfield, Mass., and earned her master’s degree from Springfield College in 1958.

Marotte completed her doctorial degree from Vanderbilt (Nashville) University in 1975.

After leaving the USAO faculty, she taught at the University of Central Oklahoma until her retirement in 1992.

While at UCO, Marotte developed a nationally recognized program of developmental adapted physical education. She structured and taught a core of courses that included Gross Motor Assessment, Perceptual Motor Assessment, Therapeutic Recreation and others.

She has worked with clients from 10 months to 22 years of age who are blind, deaf, mentally challenged, emotionally disturbed, physically handicapped, neurologically impaired or multiple handicapped.

Marotte has been recognized as the primary state expert in developmental adapted physical education and is one of the founders of the Oklahoma Task Force for Adapted Physical Education.

She has worked with public and private schools to provide special programs for special needs children.

Marotte has set up therapeutic recreation programs for senior citizen centers and epilepsy foundation centers. She continues to speak to various organizations and associations throughout the state and nation.

She has been a member of the Oklahoma Education and National Education associations and the Oklahoma Southern District and American Association of Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance.

She has served as president, vice president and chairperson of the Adaptive and Division of Girls’ and Women’s Sports Sections and on various committees of the Oklahoma Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance. Marotte is a member of the Association for Learning Disabilities of America.

Campus E-Clips is published by the Communicators Council, an advisory group to the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education comprised of Oklahoma higher education public information officers. All stories are submitted to a review panel of council members for editing and selection. To submit a story, please contact the participating council member from your institution. Stories must meet newsletter submission guidelines. Click here to view the Guidelines. For additional information, email newsletter@osrhe.edu. Site hosted by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education. Disclaimer