Oklahoma Higher Education Campus E-Clips sponsored by the Communicators Council

March 2015

OPSU Joins LSC as Affiliate Member in Football

Oklahoma Panhandle State University will join the Lone Star Conference as an affiliate member in football, the league announced recently.

The decision to invite OPSU was reached during this winter’s LSC Council of Presidents meeting and has the Aggies beginning LSC play in 2016.

“We are pleased to welcome Oklahoma Panhandle State as an affiliate member in football beginning in 2016,” said LSC interim commissioner Jay Poerner. “The LSC will provide a great home to OPSU football student-athletes and allow them to compete at the highest level of NCAA Division II.”

The agreement stipulates that OPSU’s football team is eligible to compete for the LSC team championship and earn weekly and postseason awards.They are also entitled to representation as a voting member of the football coaches’ advisory group.

With the addition of OPSU and Texas-Permian Basin, the LSC will have nine football teams competing in 2016.

OPSU is also set to play two games in the 2015 LSC football playoffs. The Aggies will host the No. 5 seed on Nov. 7 and travel to the loser of game three (6 vs 7) on Nov. 14.

Located in Goodwell, Okla., the Aggies have fielded a NCAA Division II football team since 2000. OPSU is led by Russell Gaskamp, who spent time as an assistant coach at Texas A&M-Commerce and Angelo State before taking over the Aggie program in 2012. OPSU posted a 7-3 record in 2014 while leading Division II in passing efficiency defense (81.26).

Campus E-Clips is published by the Communicators Council, an advisory group to the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education comprised of Oklahoma higher education public information officers. All stories are submitted to a review panel of council members for editing and selection. To submit a story, please contact the participating council member from your institution. Stories must meet newsletter submission guidelines. Click here to view the Guidelines. For additional information, email newsletter@osrhe.edu. Site hosted by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education. Disclaimer