Oklahoma Higher Education Campus E-Clips sponsored by the Communicators Council

March 2015

OSU-CHS Announces New Provost, COO and Associate Deans

Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences President Kayse Shrum, D.O., has announced several changes to her executive leadership team.

William Pettit, D.O., will be promoted to provost of OSU Center for Health Sciences and senior associate dean of academic affairs for OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine. Johnny Stephens, Pharm.D., will be promoted to chief operating officer, Robin Dyer, D.O., will serve as associate dean for academic affairs, and Kent Smith, Ph.D., will be associate dean for the Office for the Advancement of American Indians in Medicine and Science.

The new appointments were approved by the OSU/A&M board of regents on March 6.

Pettit, a graduate of the University of Osteopathic Medicine and Health Sciences in Des, Moines, Iowa, has previously served as interim senior associate dean and associate dean of rural health. He oversaw the OSU Center for Rural Health and was a leader in developing OSU-COM’s rural medical track. He has worked closely with hospital and clinic leaders across the state to develop medical residency programs in rural communities.

“Dr. Pettit’s leadership in developing our rural medical track and involvement with our curriculum have been invaluable in the development of our academic health system,” said Shrum, who had previously served as provost in addition to her duties as president and dean of the OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine. “He understands our mission and will continue to be an asset to the university as we train the next generation of physicians for Oklahoma.”

A licensed family medicine physician and professor of family medicine, Pettit joined the faculty at OSU Center for Health Sciences in 2002 as medical director of academic services. He served as staff physician in the U.S. Army at the Reynolds Army Community Hospital in Fort Sill, Okla., before entering private practice in Lawton.

“Dr. Stephens, Dr. Dyer and Dr. Smith have proven themselves as educators for our students,” said Shrum. “Their combined experience will prove to be invaluable as we continue to develop and expand programs to recruit and train physicians for rural and underserved areas of our state.”

Stephens has served as interim chief operating officer and interim vice president for research since July and will continue to serve as interim vice president. Prior to stepping into his executive role, Stephens was the assistant dean of sponsored programs at OSU-CHS, supervising clinical trials and the OSU Center for Aerospace and Hyperbaric Medicine. He also served as associate professor of internal medicine and ran the OSU Physicians Internal Medicine – Specialty Services clinic.

A graduate of OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine, Dyer joined the faculty as a part time adjunct instructor in 1994, the same year she was honored as Rookie Physician of the Year by the Oklahoma Osteopathic Association. She accepted a full-time faculty position with OSU-COM in 2006 and became head of the osteopathic manipulative medicine department in 2009. Prior to joining the faculty full time, Dyer maintained a private practice in Tulsa, specializing in osteopathic manipulative medicine and family practice.

Smith, a member of the Comanche, Chickasaw and Cherokee Nations, established the Office for the Advancement of American Indians in Medicine and Science and became interim associate dean in 2014 as part of an effort to recruit more American Indians into medical and STEM careers. The founder of Native Explorers, an OSU-CHS program that combines science with cultural experiences and mentorship opportunities, Smith is passionate about new learning opportunities for American Indians and creating stronger pathways to medicine and science for tribal members.

Campus E-Clips is published by the Communicators Council, an advisory group to the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education comprised of Oklahoma higher education public information officers. All stories are submitted to a review panel of council members for editing and selection. To submit a story, please contact the participating council member from your institution. Stories must meet newsletter submission guidelines. Click here to view the Guidelines. For additional information, email newsletter@osrhe.edu. Site hosted by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education. Disclaimer