Oklahoma Higher Education Campus E-Clips sponsored by the Communicators Council

March 2015

Southeastern President Selected to Serve on Governor’s Education Advisory Committee

Southeastern president Sean Burrage.

Southeastern President Sean Burrage was recently named to the Governor's Education Advisory Committee.

Governor Mary Fallin recently announced the formation of the Governor’s Education Advisory Committee.

Committee members include representatives of K-12 schools, Career Technology centers, and colleges and universities.

Southeastern Oklahoma State University President Sean Burrage is one of seven higher education officials selected to serve on the committee.Four college presidents were appointed.

“I look forward to working with all of the distinguished committee members," Burrage said. “The committee is certainly a cross-section of individuals with great knowledge to share. It’s exciting to know that we will be working cooperatively for the betterment of our students and to strengthen the workforce and economy in Oklahoma."

The committee will advise the governor on education policy and aid in the development and implementation of the governor’s “Oklahoma Works” initiative.
The new initiative, announced in Fallin’s State of the State Address, seeks to develop local partnerships between the public and private sector to ensure students have access to the education and training they need to find good paying jobs after graduation. More information about the initiative can be found at OklahomaWorks.gov.

“Nothing is more important to Oklahoma’s future than boosting educational attainment and ensuring our students get the education they need to succeed in the workforce,” said Fallin. “Supporting that effort will take input from a wide variety of educators. We want to make sure that K-12 schools, career tech and higher education all have a seat at the table as we work to improve educational outcomes.”

Members on the Governor’s Education Advisory Committee include:

Common Education
Stacey Butterfield, Jenks superintendent
Anne Caine, Stillwater superintendent
Tom Deighan, Lawton superintendent
Derald Glover, Fort Gibson superintendent
Terry Grissom, Asher superintendent
Cliff Johnson, Latta superintendent
Sean McDaniel, Mustang superintendent
Rob Neu, Oklahoma City superintendent
Clark Ogilvie, Owasso superintendent
Jeff Pritchard, Seminole superintendent
Don Raleigh, Pryor superintendent
Roydon Tilley, Chisholm superintendent

Career Tech
Jane Bowen, Moore-Norman superintendent
Lindel Fields, Tri County Tech Center superintendent
Tom Friedemann, Francis Tuttle superintendent
Max Thomas, Chisholm Trail Technology Center superintendent
Tom Thomas, Great Plains Technology Center superintendent
Phil Waul, Central Tech superintendent

Higher Education
Don Betz, University of Central Oklahoma president
Sean Burrage, Southeastern Oklahoma State University president
Cheryl Evans, Northern Oklahoma College president
Bo Hannaford, Northwestern dean of College of Professional Studies
Deborah Landry, Northeastern Oklahoma State University dean of education
Joy McDaniel, Murray State College president
Bill Path, OSU Institute of Technology president

Campus E-Clips is published by the Communicators Council, an advisory group to the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education comprised of Oklahoma higher education public information officers. All stories are submitted to a review panel of council members for editing and selection. To submit a story, please contact the participating council member from your institution. Stories must meet newsletter submission guidelines. Click here to view the Guidelines. For additional information, email newsletter@osrhe.edu. Site hosted by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education. Disclaimer