Oklahoma Higher Education Campus E-Clips sponsored by the Communicators Council

September-October 2015

Dr. C. Henry Gold to be Inducted Into Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame

SE's Dr. C. Henry Gold.

Dr. C. Henry Gold will be inducted into the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame on Oct. 12.

Dr. C. Henry Gold, whose professional career spanned almost 60 years, will be inducted into the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame this fall.
The formal induction ceremony and banquet will be held on Oct. 12, at 6:30 p.m. at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City.

The Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame is sponsored by the Oklahoma Higher Education Heritage Society.

Gold served Southeastern Oklahoma State University for 47 years, after beginning his career at Oklahoma City University in 1956.

“Being inducted into the Higher Education Hall of Fame is a great honor and I’m pleased that Southeastern will also receive some recognition," Gold said. “I served in higher education from age 23 to age 82 and I have no regrets. If I could have done more, I would have done more … I would like to see everyone have access (to higher education) and success (in life)."

He earned all three of his academic degrees at the University of Oklahoma.

During his career, Gold held 16 positions, including professor, director of admissions, director of financial aid, registrar, and director of placement. He joined the Southeastern faculty in 1967 and became director of a program that was a forerunner to higher education centers and today’s University Center of Southern Oklahoma in Ardmore. He also later served as interim director of the McCurtain County Higher Education program.

In 1973, he was named the first dean of the School of Business and Industry.

Gold also later served as associate vice president of academic affairs, and was instrumental in the eventual establishment of the Oklahoma Small Business Development Center.

His final position at Southeastern was as a development officer.

“This is a great honor for Dr. Gold and for Southeastern Oklahoma State University," said Southeastern president Sean Burrage. “When you look back at Dr. Gold’s career, it’s clear that he was on the cutting edge of innovation in higher education circles. His contributions have made a lasting impact at many levels in the state of Oklahoma. Simply stated, Henry Gold is a great advocate for higher education."

Gold is married to Jackye Gold, a retired Southeastern business instructor. They have a son, Brent, three daughters, Kimberly Pool, Laura Stephens, and Sheri Mauck, and six grandchildren.

The complete list of 2015 inductees is as follows:
Belinda P. Biscoe (Norman) – University of Oklahoma
David and Molly Shi Boren (Norman) – University of Oklahoma
Anthony Wayne Confer (Stillwater) – Oklahoma State University
Robert C. Dauffenbach (Norman) – University of Oklahoma
C. Henry Gold (Durant) – Southeastern Oklahoma State University
Lawrence K. (posthumous award) and Maggie Parks Hayes (Oklahoma City) – Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education/University of Oklahoma
Thomas McKeon (Tulsa) – Tulsa Community College
Roscoe Rouse Jr. (Stillwater) – Oklahoma State University (posthumous award)
Ingrid Shafer (Chickasha) – University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma (posthumous award)
Alan R. Velie (Norman) – University of Oklahoma

The Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame was established in 1994 to recognize and honor individuals, living and deceased, for outstanding meritorious service to higher education in Oklahoma. This year represents the 22nd year to honor higher education educators and administrators as well as those who support higher education with distinguished contributions.

To be eligible for induction, an individual must have been employed by one or more institutions of public or private higher education in Oklahoma on a full-time basis for a minimum of 10 years. Individuals not so employed, but who have performed outstanding service to higher education in the state or organizations or institutions, are also eligible for consideration, such service to be above and beyond financial contributions.

Campus E-Clips is published by the Communicators Council, an advisory group to the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education comprised of Oklahoma higher education public information officers. All stories are submitted to a review panel of council members for editing and selection. To submit a story, please contact the participating council member from your institution. Stories must meet newsletter submission guidelines. Click here to view the Guidelines. For additional information, email newsletter@osrhe.edu. Site hosted by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education. Disclaimer