Oklahoma Higher Education Campus E-Clips sponsored by the Communicators Council

November-December 2015

SWOSU President Inducted Into Western Oklahoma Hall of Fame

SWOSU President Randy Beutler.

SWOSU President Randy Beutler was recently inducted into the Western Oklahoma Hall of Fame.

Southwestern Oklahoma State University President Randy Beutler was one of four individuals who was recently inducted into the Western Oklahoma Hall of Fame during a November banquet in Elk City.

Beutler, the 17th president of SWOSU, was inducted along with Richard L. “Dick” Dugger, Sage Kimzey and Ted Kimzey.

Each year WOHF nominees are honored for bringing attention to, preserving the heritage of, or providing a more prosperous future for western Oklahoma.

Before coming to SWOSU in 2010, Beutler served as legislative liaison to the House of Representatives for Governor Brad Henry. He is a former state representative from District 60. The Canute High School and SWOSU graduate was reelected three times without opposition and served until 2000.

Former SWOSU President John Hays hired Beutler to work at the university in 2006. He assisted with external affairs, legislative matters, grant development and developed the President’s Leadership Class.

All four of this year’s honorees are natives of western Oklahoma and have a common denominator in ranching.

Campus E-Clips is published by the Communicators Council, an advisory group to the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education comprised of Oklahoma higher education public information officers. All stories are submitted to a review panel of council members for editing and selection. To submit a story, please contact the participating council member from your institution. Stories must meet newsletter submission guidelines. Click here to view the Guidelines. For additional information, email newsletter@osrhe.edu. Site hosted by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education. Disclaimer