june 11, 2003


NSU establishes science teacher association student chapter

Northeastern State University recently established a National Science Teacher Association student chapter (NSU NSTA). NSU’s student organization is one of 26 in the nation and it is the only student chapter in Oklahoma. Membership is open to all Science Education, Elementary Education, Early Childhood Education, and Special Education majors. Each student member will receive a free one-year student membership in the national organization ($30 value.)

This membership includes a year subscription to Science and Children (for elementary teachers), Science Scope (for middle school science teachers), or The Science Teacher (for high school science teachers).

The purpose of the student chapter is to:

• To promote the mission of NSTA (promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all)
• To acquaint pre-service teachers of science with the support resources available from NSTA
• To provide additional professional development in science education to pre-service teachers
• To acquaint pre-service teachers of science with others like themselves at their university or college and across the United States and Canada
• To promote the field of secondary science education to science majors and other undergraduates.

Current NSU NSTA officers are Amanda Bennett, President; Jennifer Russell, Program/Vice President; Jennifer Herndon, Membership/Secretary/Treasurer; and Shannon White, Newsletter/Publicity.

“We are very proud of the the students who helped organize this student chapter. They really assumed a leadership role, and they have a vision of how the organization can help prepare K-12 teachers of science, said Dr. April Adams, faculty advisor.

More information concerning the NSTA student chapter program may be found at: http://www.nsta.org/chapters#student.