JUNE 17, 2009


Southeastern Professor Receives National Safety Educator Award

Photo of Wayne Jones, SE professor, who received a national award.
Southeastern's Dr. Wayne Jones received the Dr. William E. Tarrants ASSE Outstanding Safety Educator award from the American Society of Safety Engineers.

Acknowledging his contributions to occupational safety higher education, teaching, service, research and scholarship in the profession, the American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE) has named Dr. Wayne D. Jones of Southeastern Oklahoma State University as the 2009 recipient of the Dr. William E. Tarrants ASSE Outstanding Safety Educator award.

Jones will receive the award at ASSE’s annual Professional Development Conference (PDC) and Exposition – Safety 2009, in San Antonio, Texas.

“This is a tremendous honor for Dr. Jones and for the University,’’ said Southeastern president Michael D. Turner. “Our occupational safety and health program is one of the premier programs of its kind in the entire country. It is also a program that continues to experience growth, while equipping students with the tools they need in the high demand job market.”

According to ASSE, the Outstanding Safety Educator award was established in 2002 in honor of Dr. William E. Tarrants, P.E., CSP, of Crownsville, Md., a past ASSE president and safety educator who helped establish the Academic Accreditation Council and the Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP). Nominated by their peers, recipients of this award are recognized for their work with education in the occupational safety, health and environmental field, the Society and the safety profession. It is the highest award presented to an academic by the society.

Receiving numerous citations from various organizations during the past 15 years, Jones has been a full-time member of the Southeastern faculty since 1997, and has served as chair of the department of occupational safety & health since 2001. Serving as president of the Southeastern faculty senate for the past two years, he has also occupied the office of administrator of the ASSE academic practice specialty for the past three years.

Jones is a five-time recipient of the Southeastern faculty senate award for service and teaching and was the 2005 recipient of the Jesse Locke membership safety award presented by the ASSE Southwest (Dallas) chapter.

He graduated from Idabel (Oklahoma) High School in 1979, received his Bachelor of Science degree in safety education/business administration from Southeastern Oklahoma State University in 1983, the Master of Science degree in aviation safety from the University of Central Missouri in 1984, the Master of Arts degree in religious education from Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary in 1988, and the Doctor of Education degree from Texas A & M University–Commerce in 2002.

With more than 450 students enrolled in least one occupational safety course each semester and more than 300 undergraduate and graduate students majoring in occupational safety & health, the Southeastern department of occupational safety & health is one of the largest programs of its kind in the U.S. and consistently ranks as one of the most requested undergraduate and graduate programs by employers.

Founded in 1911, the Des Plaines, Ill.,-based ASSE is the largest and oldest professional safety organization and is committed to protecting people, property and the environment. Its more than 33,000 occupational safety, health and environmental professional members manage, supervise, research and consult on safety, health, transportation and environmental issues in all industries, government, labor and education.