Skip to main content

Campus Wellness Consortium

In August 2009, a group of higher education employees came together to share information on campus health and wellness programs with an emphasis on tobacco use prevention. The Campus Wellness Consortium (CWC) currently has a membership of 55 individuals from public and private institutions of higher learning, career technology centers and closely aligned health professionals.

The mission is to promote and strengthen activities pertaining to all aspects of student and employee health and wellness that may impact the missions of educational institutions. More information about the organization and listserv can be found at

Tobacco-Free State Properties
On Feb. 6, 2012, Gov. Mary Fallin issued an executive order that prohibits the use of tobacco products "on any and all properties owned, leased or contracted for use by the State of Oklahoma..." This must be acheived by Aug. 6, 2012.

QPR – Question, Persuade and Refer
In 2012, 39 new QPR trainers began classes on Oklahoma higher education campuses. Since that time, trainers have held classes for hundreds of faculty, staff and students. Training costs and classroom materials are paid by a grant from the Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services. Under the Garrett Lee Smith Memorial Act, ODMHSAS has initiated the Oklahoma Youth Suicide Prevention and Early Intervention Initiative.

If you would like to subscribe to the Oklahoma Garrett Lee Smith Suicide Prevention Grant news feed for articles, upcoming training and research articles, see

For questions about QPR training on campuses or about the Campus Wellness Consortium, contact Sarah Kimball Abhayagoonawardhana at 405.225.9458 or

Banner for the Suicide Prevention Lifeline. 1-800-273-TALK (8255).