Minutes of the Economic Development Council Meeting

May 12, 2015 Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education

Members present:

Arun Tilak, CU; Kathy Harrell, CASC; Ryan Blanton, CSC; Janet Wansick, EOSC; Ron Cambiano, NSU; Steven Bloomberg, OCCC; Larry Smith, SSC; Doug Misak, SWOSU; Tony Bretti, TCC

Guests present:

Kathy Hendrick, SOSU; President Burrage, SOSU; Randy McCrary and Renae Brill, OSRHE staff.

1. Welcome and Introductions of all members and guests

Chairperson Janet Wansick called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m. Introductions were made and guests were welcomed.

2. Approval of January 13, 2015 EDC meeting minutes

Upon a motion duly made, seconded, and carried, the minutes of the January 13, 2015 meeting of the Economic Development Council were approved as presented.

3. Nomination of the Vice Chairperson from the two-year tier for the 2015-16 academic year:

Chairperson Ms. Wansick opened the floor to nomination for the 2015-16 year vice chairperson position. Tony Bretti from Tulsa Community College was nominated by Kathy Harrell of Carl Albert State College and Ryan Blanton from Connors State College was nominated by Sheri Snyder via Janet Wansick and the nominations ceased. Ms. Lake will send an email to the two-year institutions so they can vote. The council as a whole will confirm the Vice Chairperson via email since there will be no June meeting.

4. Nomination of 2015-16 Executive Committee members (two from each of the two-year and four-year tiers)

- a. The chair sought nominations for the four-year tier members Doug Misak from Southwestern Oklahoma State University was nominated by Arun Tilak of Cameron University. Mark Kinders from University of Central Oklahoma was nominated by Arun Tilak, for the four-year institutions.
 - Since there were two nominees for the available positions, the four-year tier members will confirm via email
- **b.** The chair sought nominations for the two-year tier members Steven Bloomberg from Oklahoma City Community College was nominated by Tony Bretti of Tulsa Community College and Kathy Harrell from Carl Albert State College was

nominated by Janet Wansick of Eastern Oklahoma State College, for the two-year institutions.

Since there were two nominees for the available positions, the two-year tier members will confirm via email

5. Form the 2016 Regents Business Partnership Excellence Award ceremony and reception planning committee

The chair sought nominations for the chair of the planning committee for the 2016 Partnership program and ceremony. Ms. Wansick asked that Dr. Harrell co-chair, Ms. Hendrick and Mr. Smith said they would like to be on the committee. Dr. Harrell recommended that Ms. Snyder be on the committee.

6. New Business

Mr. Bretti shared with the council that the 2015-16 EDI committee is working on new ideas for the 2015-16 program.

7. Adjournment

There being no further business to come before the Council, the meeting adjourned at 9:15 a.m.