Minutes of the Economic Development Council Meeting

February 23, 2016
Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education

Members present:

Arun Tilak, CU; Kathy Harrell, CASC; Ryan Blanton, CSC; Wendell Godwin, EOSC; Dana Hope Chism, LU; Cecil Carter, MSC; Ron Cambiano, NSU; John Claybon, OCCC; Shad Satterthwaite, OU; Stan Greil, RSC; Doug Misak, SWOSU; Alex Kangas, USAO; Jeri Delaney, WOSC

Guests present:

Heather Kay, OSU-OKC; Sheryl Hale, OSUIT; Connie Lake, Tony Hutchison, Randy McCrary, Cody Ruiz, Ryan Mitchell and Renae Brill, OSRHE staff.

1. Welcome and Introductions of all members and guests

Chairperson Arun Tilak started the meeting at 11:30 a.m.

2. Approval of January 12, 2016 EDC meeting minutes

Corrections were offered to the January 12, 2016 EDC meeting minutes by Wendell Godwin regarding East Central University's partnership with Middle Mountain Dairy. With no further corrections offered a motion was duly made, seconded, and carried, the minutes of the January 12, 2016 meeting of the Economic Development Council were approved as presented/corrected.

3. Nomination of the Vice Chairperson from the four-year tier for the 2016-17 academic year:

Chairperson Mr. Tilak opened the floor to nomination for the 2016-17 year vice chairperson position. Doug Misak from Southwestern Oklahoma State University was nominated by Ron Cambiano of Northeastern State University and seconded by Arun Tilak from Cameron University. The full Council confirmed the Vice Chairperson.

4. Nomination of 2016-17 Executive Committee members (two from each of the two-year and four-year tiers)

a. The chair sought nominations for the four-year tier members – Mark Kinders from the University of Central Oklahoma was nominated by Doug Misak from Southwestern Oklahoma State University and seconded by Arun Tilak of Cameron University. Ron Cambiano of Northeastern State University was nominated by Doug Misak from Southwestern Oklahoma State University and seconded by Arun Tilak from Cameron University for the four-year institutions. The four-year tier representatives confirmed these nominations.

b. The chair sought nominations for the two-year tier members – Kathy Harrell from Carl Albert State College was nominated by Jeri Delaney of Western Oklahoma State College and seconded by Cecil Carter from Murray State College. Jon Claybon from Oklahoma City Community College was nominated by Stan Greil of Rose State College and seconded by Kathy Harrell from Carl Albert State College for the two-year institutions. The two-year tier representatives confirmed these nominations.

5. New Business

No new business.

6. Adjournment

There being no further business to come before the Council, the meeting adjourned at 11:38 a.m.