Minutes of the Economic Development Council Meeting

June 12, 2017 Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education

Members present:

Ryan Blanton, CSC; Wendell Godwin, ECU; Kaben Smallwood, EOSC; Dana Hope Chism, LU; Cecil Carter, MSC; Ron Cambiano, NSU; John Claybon, OCCC; Stan Greil, RSC; Doug Misak, SWOSU; Chrystal Overton, WOSC.

Guests present:

Jennifer Humphreys, CASC; Robert Coleman, City of Midwest City; Rae Ann Kruse, NOC; Sharon Nichols, Oklahoma Small Business Development Center-Southeastern Oklahoma State University; Sheryl Hale, OSUIT; Jackie Weston, OSUOKC; Mary Eichinger, SWOSU; Max Pyron, SWOSU; Mike Autrey, TCC; Eric Batten, Texas Instruments, Inc.; Cassandra Ersland, USAO; Lisa Greenlee, WOSC; Cody Ruiz, Connie Lake, Randy McCrary, and Tony Hutchison, OSRHE staff.

1. Welcome and Introductions of all members and guests

Chairperson Ryan Blanton started the meeting at 3:50 p.m.

2. Approval of May 9, 2017 minutes

Upon a motion duly made, seconded, and carried, the minutes of the May 9, 2017, meeting of the Economic Development Council were approved as presented.

3. Confirmation of the Vice Chairperson from the two-year tier for the 2017-18 academic year:

Chairperson Mr. Blanton opened the floor to confirmation of the 2017-18 year vice chairperson position. Kaben Smallwood from Eastern Oklahoma State College was confirmed by Ron Cambiano of Northeastern State University and seconded by Cecil Carter from Murray State College. The full Council confirmed the Vice Chairperson.

4. Confirmation of 2017-18 Executive Committee members (two from each of the two-year and four-year tiers)

a. The chair confirmed nominations for the four-year tier members – Mark Kinders from the University of Central Oklahoma was confirmed by Cecil Carter from Murray State College and seconded by Ron Cambiano of Northeastern State University. Dana Hope Chism was confirmed by Cecil Carter from Murray State College and seconded by Ron Cambiano of Northeastern State University for the four-year institutions. The four-year tier representatives confirmed these nominations.

b. The chair confirmed nominations for the two-year tier members – Patrick Green from Tulsa Community College was confirmed by Stan Greil of Rose State College and seconded by Cecil Carter from Murray State College. Jon Claybon from Oklahoma City Community College was confirmed by Stan Greil of Rose State College and seconded by Cecil Carter from Murray State College for the two-year institutions. The two-year tier representatives confirmed these nominations.

5. New Business

No new business.

6. Adjournment

There being no further business to come before the Council, the meeting adjourned at 3:54 p.m.