OCALD Membership Meeting University of Oklahoma, Bizzell Memorial Library – Norman, Oklahoma April 23, 2015 1:00p.m.-3:00p.m.

Attending:

Members: Mary Rixen – Murray State College, Karen Rupp-Serrano – OU Norman, Jason Dupree – Southwestern Oklahoma State University, Adrianna Lancaster – East Central University, Stewart Brower – OU Tulsa, Melissa Huffman – Rose State College, Suzanne Rooker – Western Oklahoma State College, Victoria Swinney – Oklahoma City University, Jolene Armstrong – Connors State College, Habib Tabatabai – University of Central Oklahoma, Paula Settoon – Tulsa Community College, Anita Semtner – St. Gregory's University, Nancy Draper – Hillsdale Free Will Baptist College, Sharon Morrison – Southeastern Oklahoma State University, Joy Summers-Ables – OU Health Science Center, Christine Dettlaff – Redlands Community College, Karen Harmon – Connors State College Muskogee, Steve Edscorn – Northeastern State University, Sherry Young – Cameron University, Michael Foote – Mid-America Christian University, Katie King – Southern Nazarene University, Adrian Alexander, University of Tulsa, Terri Greer – University Center of Southern Oklahoma Ardmore

Special Guests: Cecilia Brown – OU School of Library and Information Studies Wynoma vanDuinkerken – Texas A&M Joint Library Facility

Introductions – Stewart Brower

Approval of Minutes from February 2015

Anita Semtner moved that the minutes be accepted; Melissa Huffman seconded the motion and it carried.

OCALD Executive Committee Report – Stewart Brower, OCALD Chair

- Paula Settoon reported the OCALD Executive Board election results: Secretary-Treasurer: Suzanne Rooker, Member-at-Large: Adrian Alexander and Chair Elect: Sheila Johnson
- The OCALD Executive Committee and the Bylaws Committee during the summer will look into changing the name of the Expanded Instructional Support Committee and its charge as well as a change to the OK-Share Committee's charge. OCALD will vote on the changes in the fall.

Committee Reports

- Bylaws Committee
 - o No report
- Expanded Instructional Support Committee
 - Jason Dupree submitted a proposal to the OCALD Executive Committee proposing the following:
 - A revision to the committee's charge

The committee's charge currently reads as follows: Expand statewide borrowing privileges. Develop statewide cooperative reference/research services. Develop statewide standards for library services to distance learners.

Committees proposed revision would read as follows:

Develop statewide cooperative support for existing and emerging library services. Adopt standards for library services to distance learners.

 A name change to the Expanded Instructional Support Committee to more accurately reflect the work being addressed by this committee

The *Expanded Instructional Support Committee's* name would change to the *Cooperative Library Services and Standard's Committee.*

• A recommended revision to the OK-Share Committee's charge

The committee recommended that the passage remove references to the OK-Share Program be added to the committee's charge; recommended that the OCALD bylaws reflect OK-Share as separate entity from all other committees.

- OK-Share Committee
 - Karen Harmon will send out emails to collect OKShare information. OKShare forms are to be filled out and returned to Karen.
- Webpage Committee
 - The OCALD website has been updated, Suzanne asked that institutions please check the website for any information that needs to be changed and let her know.

School of Library and Information Studies (SLIS) Update - Cecelia Brown, director

- OU SLIS has been reaccredited by the American Library Association (ALA) until 2021
- Enrollment is down at OU and nationwide:
 - Enrollment in 2011 was 175 MLIS students & 35 Information Studies majors students
 - Enrollment today is 140 MLIS students & 38 Information Studies majors students
 - OU SLIS is requesting OCALD help to encourage enrollment
 - New OU SLIS employees: Professors: Dr. Colin Rhinesmith, Ph.D. (Assistant Professor) and Sarah Connelly (Coordinator of Admissions Academic and Student Support)
- June Abbas, Ph.D. received a grant for digitizing Latin text.
- Kyungwon Koh, Ph.D. received a grant to study Makerspaces in middle schools.
- Betsy Martins, Ph.D. and Cecilia Brown, Ph.D. received a grant to study the needs in public libraries for paraprofessional positions to get their MLIS degree.
- Colin Rhinesmith, Ph.D. received money from OU to study youth studios at local schools
- Ellen Rubenstein, Ph.D. is studying roles and practices in public libraries in creating health literacy.

- Kun Lu, Ph.D. is studying automated methods for why certain works are cited and how they contribute to the cited work.
- New Courses: Dynamic Web Development, Social Informatics, Leadership Course, Community Based Healthcare Information and Society, Health Informatics for Information Professionals, Data Mining, Data Visualization, Information and the Environment
- An accelerated master's degree program is waiting to be approved.
- Courses are being offered both in face-to-face and online.
- OU SLIS is looking for an academic librarian to serve on its external advisory board.
- Requests was made for librarians to provide professional development to students.
- OU SLIS is hosting a reception in October for SLIS alumni and friends, and asking them to bring someone who might want to go to library school.

Committee Reports Continued

- Cooperative Collection Development and Resource Sharing Committee
 - Victoria Swinney reported the survey results: majority of people preferred Newsbank (most expensive-over three times the cost of current newspaper subscription)
 - Regional Business Plus is no different than Newspaper Source Plus in terms of regional materials offered
 - Decision must be made by April 29th as to whether or not to change to ProQuest or Newsbank
 - If change to Newsbank, all libraries in consortium will have to pay approximately twice what we are currently paying

Old Business

- Presentation on the Texas A&M Joint Library Facility by Wyoma vanDuinkerken (Library Project Manager/Library Director at Texas A&M University)
- Adhoc committee will be created to explore creating a joint library facility. The following individuals will serve on this committee: Steve Edscorn (Chair), Jolene Armstrong, Stewart Brower, Sheila Johnson or OSU representative, Suzanne Rooker and Habib Tabatabai. We also hope to have representation from OU Norman.

Committee Reports Continued

- Cooperative Collection Development and Resource Sharing Committee
 - Suggestion was made to perform a priority assessment on what resources OCALD needs OSRHE to try to purchase
 - Business Source Premier seems to be of more importance than newspapers
 - It was decided to keep Business Source Premier for one more year and put off the conversation until we know what will happen for ODL in terms of funding
 - Victoria will see if OSRHE would be willing to purchase newspapers from ProQuest and Business Source Premier from EBSCO

• Suggestion was made that we should look into getting OSRHE to pay for Academic Search Premier