Determined to find solutions for the challenges communities face throughout the country, 15 inspirational students from Oklahoma’s colleges and universities were recognized as 2020 Newman Civic Fellows during the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education meeting Friday.

Taylynn Williamson, Connors State College; Jayci Jones, Northeastern State University; Karlianne Lovelace, Northern Oklahoma College; Landry Gaddy, Northwestern Oklahoma State University; Sonia Coffin, Oklahoma Christian University; Raven Wade, Oklahoma City Community College; Andrew Brestel, Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology; Trent Siever, Rogers State University; Kade Turner, Rose State College; Tijah Johnson, Seminole State College; Yoselin Rodriguez-Diaz, Southeastern Oklahoma State University; Natanya Hernandez, Southwestern Oklahoma State University; Justin West, Tulsa Community College; Christian Coleman, University of Central Oklahoma; and Justin Norris, University of Oklahoma, are among 290 students in the largest cohort to date. The cohort represent 39 states, Washington, D.C., Greece, Lebanon and Mexico.

The Newman Civic Fellowship is a yearlong program for students from Campus Compact member institutions. The students selected for the fellowship are leaders on their campuses who demonstrate a commitment to finding solutions for challenges facing communities locally, nationally and internationally. Through the fellowship, Campus Compact provides the students with a variety of learning and networking opportunities that emphasize personal, professional and civic growth. Fellows are invited to a national conference of Newman Civic Fellows and participate in numerous virtual training and networking opportunities. The fellowship also provides pathways to apply for exclusive scholarship and post-graduate opportunities.

‚ÄúThe State Regents are proud to recognize these extraordinary students for their civic leadership and important work in their communities,‚ÄĚ said Chancellor Glen D. Johnson. ‚ÄúTheir accomplishments demonstrate their commitment to finding local solutions to pressing problems facing citizens across Oklahoma. We wish them continued success as they complete their higher education and pursue additional endeavors to positively impact our state and the world.‚ÄĚ

The Newman Civic Fellows program was established by Campus Compact in honor of co-founder Frank Newman, who dedicated his life to creating opportunities for student civic learning and engagement. The award is designed to recognize college students who have demonstrated an investment in finding solutions for the challenges faced by communities across the nation through service, research and advocacy. Each of Oklahoma’s fellows will receive a $500 scholarship from Oklahoma Campus Compact. Students are nominated by their college or university president.