Skip to main content

Student Advisory Board

Representing the Student Body

The purpose of the Student Advisory Board is to communicate to the State Regents the views and interests of all Oklahoma college and university students on those issues that relate to the constitutional and statutory responsibilities of the State Regents. In representing students, the Student Advisory Board combines the opinions of students with good sound research to develop the best proposals and recommendations for The Oklahoma State System of Higher Education.

The creation of this board is consistent with provisions of House Bill 1801 of the 1988 Oklahoma Legislature. Seven members are elected annually by delegates to the Oklahoma Student Government Association. Members represent three tiers of Oklahoma public higher education (research universities, regional universities and community colleges) as well as private colleges and universities. All members serve a one-year term (May through April).

Six of the seven members of the 2019-20 Student Advisory Board were sworn into office by Oklahoma Supreme Court Justice Yvonne Kauger on May 31, 2019, at the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education. Pictured from left to right are: State Regents Chair Jay Helm; Clayton Myers (OBU); Robert Couch (LU); Tanner Hurst (RSC); Justice Yvonne Kauger; Rosa San Roman (OU); Palmer Tetley (TCC); Kailey Kelpine (UCO); and Chancellor Glen D. Johnson. Not pictured: SAB member Logan Hutto (OSU) will be sworn in at a later date.